--- title: "Delete a version of a document" slug: "delete-a-version-of-a-document" updated: 2026-06-01T15:35:02Z published: 2026-06-01T15:35:02Z canonical: "help.quickbase.com/delete-a-version-of-a-document" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.quickbase.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Delete a version of a document File attachment fields automatically save old versions of the document(s) you upload. How ***many*** versions is up to you. When first created, a field automatically saves three versions behind the scenes. But the application manager can [change this setting at any time](/v1/docs/using-quickbase-for-document-management#revisions). If these attachments are taking up too much room, you can delete them. Tip: If you're running into file attachment space limits, consider limiting the number of versions Quickbase saves to one. [Learn how to adjust this setting](/v1/docs/using-quickbase-for-document-management#revisions). To delete a previously-saved version of a document: 1. [Display a report](/v1/docs/using-reports-and-charts) that includes the record containing the document whose history you want to review. 2. Locate the record and select its ![edit button](https://cdn.document360.io/dd260e4e-10bb-4b66-8fb3-5504c272b904/Images/Documentation/er(5).gif) or ![edit icon](https://cdn.document360.io/dd260e4e-10bb-4b66-8fb3-5504c272b904/Images/Documentation/vr(7).gif) button. 3. Within the file attachment field, select the **Revisions** button. A popup window appears, showing previously-saved versions of the file. 4. Locate the version of the document that you want to make the current one and turn on the checkbox to its left. Tip: Not sure which one to choose? To view a document in the list, select its name. 5. Select **Delete**, and then select **OK** to confirm the action. Note: Only an application manager can delete previously-saved versions of a document.