--- title: "Delete table-to-table relationships" slug: "deleting-table-to-table-relationships" updated: 2026-04-29T16:20:54Z published: 2026-04-29T16:20:54Z canonical: "help.quickbase.com/deleting-table-to-table-relationships" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.quickbase.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Delete table-to-table relationships Before you delete a relationship, understand that you'll lose any data you've entered in fields belonging to that relationship. 1. Open the app that contains the relationship you want to delete. If you created a relationship between tables in two different apps (a cross-app relationship), open the application that contains the child table. > [!NOTE] > Note: You have the option to disable and re-enable cross-app relationships, rather than deleting them. 2. Open the table. 3. In the list of table-to-table relationships, locate the relationship that you want to delete, and either: - Select its Permanently delete this relationship icon (![Permanently delete this relationship icon](https://cdn.document360.io/dd260e4e-10bb-4b66-8fb3-5504c272b904/Images/Documentation/deleteicon_12x12(3).png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-15T04%3A45%3A00Z&se=2026-10-15T05%3A45%3A00Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=honGePbhddip2f7T2lDWC8YOXDGUkoH2Zrfnk4uclvM%3D)) in the right column. or - Select the relationship to open its properties page, and then select Delete relationship button in the top right. 4. After step 3, a **Delete Relationship?** confirmation page appears. Select the Delete button in the top right. A **Delete Fields?** dialog appears. 5. Select the **Delete** button. A message letting you know how many fields were deleted, along with a message asking if you want to delete the reference field. > [!NOTE] > Note: Quickbase deletes all the fields that are part of the relationship except the reference field itself, which is *not* deleted. This field reverts to a regular field. To avoid confusion you may want to delete this field too. 6. If you decide to delete the reference field, the field properties page appears. On the **Usage** tab, select **Delete Field**. 7. Select **Delete** to confirm the action and return to the Relationships tab.