--- title: "Set a default role" slug: "setting-a-default-role" updated: 2026-04-29T16:49:30Z published: 2026-04-29T16:49:30Z canonical: "help.quickbase.com/setting-a-default-role" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.quickbase.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Set a default role When you edit roles in an app, you can set one role as the *default role*. The default role is the one that is initially selected when you: - [Share your app](/v1/docs/sharing-apps-with-other-quickbase-users) - [Import users into your app](/v1/docs/import-users) - Add a new user to your app via a form field when the person is new to Quickbase Existing apps will not be assigned a default role, but you can set one. When an app doesn't have a default role, you'll be prompted to choose a role when you perform the actions listed above. Creating an application from scratch sets the default role to *Participant*, which allows an access level of [Basic Access with Sharing](/v1/docs/configure-permissions-for-roles). Most apps in Quickbase Exchange now set a default role, which varies based on the app. To set or un-set a default role: 1. From the app Home page, select **Settings**. 2. Select **Roles**. 3. To set a default role, select the checkbox next to the role that you want to make the default and select **Set as Default**. The default role is marked with a check icon (![Check icon indicating default role](https://cdn.document360.io/dd260e4e-10bb-4b66-8fb3-5504c272b904/Images/Documentation/default_check.png)). To un-set a default role, select the checkbox next to the default role and select **Remove Default**. To delete a role that is set as default: If a particular role is the default role, you cannot [delete it](/v1/docs/deleting-roles). Before attempting to delete a role that has been set as the default, either switch the default role to another role, or un-set the default role.