--- title: "User group tasks (Pro)" slug: "user-group-tasks-pro" updated: 2026-09-28T06:23:20Z published: 2026-09-28T06:23:20Z canonical: "help.quickbase.com/user-group-tasks-pro" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.quickbase.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # User group tasks (Pro) ## Overview You have the option to assign tasks to [user groups](/fastfield/docs/user-groups) within your account. This process will send a task to a shared group inbox, and anyone in that group can pick up and complete the task. If someone picked up the task but isn't able to get to it, they can *un*assign it from themselves for someone else to pick up.For example, let's say you have a work order for a maintenance team. All you'd need to do is create the work order task and assign it to the maintenance team's user group. Then, the first available worker can pick up the task and complete the job. ## How to assign a user group task To assign a task to a user group, select **Dispatch to User Group** in the drop-down menu for **Recipient Type**. ## How to access a user group task Once dispatched, a user group task will be sent to all members of the user group. Then, any member of the group can find the task in their group inbox in the app: 1. Sign into the FastField **app**. 2. Locate the **Inbox** section on the main menu screen. Here you can view a counter of how many individual (*Mine*) and user group (*Group*) tasks you have in your inbox. > [!NOTE] > **Note** > > This number reflects *unopened* tasks that have been assigned to you or your group. 3. Select **Inbox** and go to the **Group Tasks** tab. 4. Now, you have the option to assign a task to yourself from your group's inbox. Select your desired task and then **Assign to Me** at the bottom. 5. Select **Start Form** to open and start the task, or select **Unassign Task** to place it back in your group's inbox. Once you start a user group task, it will remove it from your group inbox and move it to your personal **In Progress** area of the app, and members of your group will not be able to see or access the task. You *cannot* reassign a task back to the group once you've started a user group task.If you have not started the task, however, you can still reassign it back to your group's inbox.![Group Tasks inbox in the FastField app](https://cdn.document360.io/dd260e4e-10bb-4b66-8fb3-5504c272b904/Images/Documentation/16462948065805?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-30T16%3A30%3A04Z&se=2026-10-30T17%3A30%3A04Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=EaDc2PQuxQAW38KpeFohStVEKzkmyOnn1HcOd9erbh4%3D)