End-user permissions

Prev Next

In some use-cases for the Document Portal, you may want to stop your end-users from performing certain tasks, such as deleting files, uploading files, or editing records. The Document Portal allows you to customize this behavior for your end-users—so you can make the tool fit your specific use-case.

Default settings

Without any permissions being changed, open the Settings window inside the Document Portal to see the available settings. Each is a toggle switch, and all are turned on by default:

  • Allow Upload?

  • Allow Delete?

  • Allow Replace File?

  • Allow Edit Record?

  • Allow Grid Edit?

By default, you can switch these settings on/off inside of the Document Portal, which affects only your current window.

Change a default

You can also default what these settings are set to when you open the control. For example, let's say we wanted to turn Delete off by default, but if the user wants to delete a file, they can turn it back on inside of the settings menu. You would set the parameter allowdelete to "n", in full "allowdelete=n".

When the end-user loads in, the Delete button (trash can icon) in the button bar is grayed out, and in the Settings window the Allow Delete? toggle is switched off. The user can switch the toggle back on to re-enable delete for their current window.

Lock a setting

Now, let's say you wanted to entirely disable the ability to delete files for the end-user—which means that they cannot turn it back on no matter what. To do this, you would set the parameter allowdelete to "nl", in full "allowdelete=nl"—note that the 'n' means no (off) and the 'l' means locked. This "locks" the setting to whatever the app admin has set.

For upload, replace, and delete, we also check the lock on our server each time a user tries the action, so that end-users can't get around it by tampering with the Document Portal. Setting allowupload, allowreplace, or allowdelete to nl means your end users can't perform that action at all. The server check needs the value written exactly as lowercase nl, so always use lowercase. For Edit Record and Grid Edit, allowedit=nl and allowgridedit=nl remove the controls from the portal.

When the end-user loads in, the Delete button is removed from the button bar entirely instead of being grayed out. In the Settings window, Allow Delete? is also removed—only Allow Upload?, Allow Replace File?, Allow Edit Record?, and Allow Grid Edit? remain—to indicate it is no longer under the user's control.

If a user's action is blocked by a lock, they see a message such as Delete has been locked to false by the app admin. See Document Portal messages and troubleshooting.

You can read more about these parameters and how to set them in Formula URL parameters.