Reorder Role Priorities

This topic refers to functionality that is not available to accounts on the Quick Base Essential plan. If the functionality described here does not match what you're seeing in Quick Base, your account is probably on this plan.

Roles determine what a user can see and do inside an application. But what happens when roles collide? It's possible for a user to have multiple roles within the same application. For example, say a user belongs to two groups, and you've granted both groups access to your application but with different roles.

When a user has two roles, Quick Base grants the user access permissions allowed by either role. In other words, Quick Base adds up everything a user CAN do according to any role they're assigned and allows it. For example, if one role says he can't add a record and the other role says he can, Quick Base lets him add a record.

If you've designed a special data entry form for each role, and a custom app Home page too, dual roles present a real conflict. Because the program can only display one form or one Home page, it must choose a role. To do so, Quick Base checks to see which role has the higher priority and displays the form or app Home page associated with that role. Role priorities apply to all aspects of a role, including settings on the User Interface tab.

You can control which role takes precedence over another from within the application.

Important: Role priority is not supported when a user has both 1) access via a role assigned to the user, and 2) access via a role assigned to a group the user belongs to.

To set role priorities:
  1. From the app Home page, click SETTINGS.

  2. Click Roles.

  3. Drag the roles into the order that you'd like them to appear in. Roles nearer the top of the list have precedence over roles further down in the list.

    You can select more than one role using the checkbox to the left of the role name, then drag and drop all selected roles to reorder. While dragging, a horizontal red line indicates the place where the role(s) will be dropped. A tooltip gives exact information about the number of roles being dragged and the drop location.

    If you prefer to sort the roles by a column in the list, click the column header to sort by that column. Drag and drop is disabled while you have roles sorted by a column, and a warning to that effect is displayed at the top of the screen. Click the Return to role list order link to re-enable drag and drop.

    Note: Sorting the role list does not affect role priorities.

  4. Test role settings to make sure each role behaves correctly after you've made your changes.

Related Topics:

 

Go back      |       |   

© 1999-2018  QuickBase, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Legal Notices.