Can I Make Changes in the Live Application During Application Development?

This topic refers to functionality that is only available to accounts on the Quick Base Platform or Quick Base Unlimited plans. If you do not see the functionality described here, either your account or realm has not been configured to show it, or your account is not on one of those plans.

Quick Base provides the sandbox application as a safe place where you can make and test changes before introducing them to the live application. For this reason, Quick Base locks your live application when you create a sandbox application to prevent anyone at your site from making changes during the development period. Note that creating a sandbox does not prevent your users from adding and editing records; see What can I update in the sandbox application? for more information.

Who can unlock the live application?

Only application managers can unlock the live application manually. However, they should do so only in situations where they've decided to discard the sandbox application without applying changes. Application managers should never unlock the live application while development changes are being made in the sandbox application.

When application managers access a locked application, they'll see the following message:

Application managers should click Unlock this app to unlock the application. Note that unlocking the live application manually breaks all connection between the sandbox version of the application and the live application.

Note: A locked app may not be copied.

Related Topics:

 

Go back      |       

© 1999-2018  QuickBase, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Legal Notices.