Copy an Application with Data

You can create an exact copy of an existing application, including all its data. To copy an application along with its data, you must have permission to view all the records in the application.

Note: Copying an app with connected tables disconnects the connected tables from the data source. Connected tables can’t be re-connected. Connected tables are not available to accounts on the Quick Base Essential plan.

To copy an application with data:
  1. Open the application that you want to copy, click Settings, then click App management.

  2. Click Copy app.

    Note: If Copy app isn't shown on this page, then the Application Manager has not granted you permission to copy the application.

  3. Enter a new name and description (optional) for the application.

  4. Select any of the following options:

    • Copy this application with data – Copies the application along with all its records.
      When you choose to copy an application with data, you can include file attachments or leave them out of the process. (File attachments often take up a lot of space, which is why you may want to leave them behind. See Managing an application's file attachments to remove old file versions before copying the application.)

      • including file attachments – Select this checkbox to copy data with file attachments. If you don't want to copy attached files, deselect the checkbox. When you copy an app with file attachments, the total size of the attachments must be less than 75 MB.

    • Copy this application without data – Copies only the shell of the application and leave its data behind.

  5. Tell Quick Base how to copy users and roles. Choose one of the following:

    • Copy users in their roles – Select this option to duplicate the list of users and assign them to their existing roles in the new application.

    • Copy users and roles separately – Select this option if you don't want to share the new application with anyone, or expect to invite a different set of users. Your user list appears in the new application, but no user has access. The same roles are available but they're not assigned to any users yet.

    Note: When you copy users in their assigned roles, you automatically grant them access to the new application. They're rarely aware of this until you invite them to access the new application.

  6. Click Copy Application to complete the copy.

    Note: The copy fails if you exceed your billing account's space limits, or if you have more than 75MB of file attachments.

After you copy an application

Quick Base also lets you copy any cross-app relationships you may have created. See Copy an application with cross-application relationships for more information.

Once you've created your copy, you may want to take some additional steps:

  • Invite users – Even if you chose to grant users of the original application access to the new one by leaving their roles in place, you should bring the new application to their attention. If so, go to the Manage Users page and invite them.

  • Activate existing emails – When Quick Base copies your application, it copies any automated emails you've set up, but deactivates them in the new application. If you want Quick Base to start churning out emails from your new application, you must actively activate them. (Read how to activate and deactivate notifications, subscriptions and reminders.)

Note: If the application you're copying has a field that gets its values from a field in another app, the field will still get its values from the field and app you specified when you set it up. However, if that field gets its values from a field in another table in the same app, that setup will be copied so that the field gets its values from the copied app rather than the original app. Read more about shared value fields.

Related Topics: