Connecting to QuickBooks Online

This topic refers to functionality that is not available to accounts on the Quickbase Essential plan. If the functionality described here does not match what you're seeing in Quickbase, your account is probably on this plan.

Connect to QuickBooks Online to bring data from QuickBooks into a connected table in your Quickbase app and keep it in sync automatically.

Note: QuickBooks Online requires that you are a QuickBooks Online Administrator to connect. QuickBooks Online allows only one active connection to a company, regardless of the connection owner. You may need to coordinate among app admins when creating QuickBooks connections.

Important: Deleting a connection for Gmail, Google Drive, or QuickBooks will invalidate other QuickBase Sync connections that were created with the same Gmail, Google Drive, or QuickBooks log in credentials. This happens because when a connection is deleted, we send a request to the connected service to revoke the OAuth token that was used by that connection. When Google or QuickBooks receives the request, they invalidate all the OAuth tokens for Quickbase Sync for that user. The connections in Quickbase will fail until the connection owner reauthorizes the connection to get a new valid OAuth token.

To connect to QuickBooks Online:
  1. From the table bar, click New Table and then select Using connected data.

  2. Name your table, click Next, and then select QuickBooks.

  3. Sign in to QuickBooks Online to authorize QuickBooks to connect to Quickbase.
    QuickBooks uses Open Authentication (OAuth), an industry standard that securely grants access to data, while protecting personal information, such as your user name and password.

  4. Create your connected table. See Adding a connected table to your app or click the Help icon in the top right, while creating your table, and we'll guide you along.

View, test, or delete your connections

To view details about your connection and test, change, or delete connections, click the user dropdown on the Global bar, then click My preferences. Your connections display in the My Connections area.

View connected table details and history

To view Details about your connected table, including the connected service, connection owner, connected fields, filter, and schedule for the connected table, access the connection in Table Settings. You can also view a History of recent refreshes, and edit the connection filter, refresh schedule, or switch to use a different connection, if necessary.

Related topics: