What Is a Group?

A group is a collection of registered Quick Base users to which you give a name. Any user who has the power to create an application, can create a group.  If you do not have permission to create applications, you cannot create new groups.

Why create a group?

Groups can help you manage your account or application very efficiently. When you create a group, you can gather similar users together and grant application access or special permission rights to all members at once. For example, say you frequently share applications with all twenty people in your sales department. Sure, you can share with them one by one, but why not save yourself a lot of time and effort by gathering them all together in a group? That way, you can share an application once with the "sales" group, instead of selecting twenty users and sharing with each one.

An added benefit of groups is that you can use them to control access permissions within an application. Normally, you control permissions by assigning a role to a user. This role determines what the user can see or do. Save yourself loads of time by assigning a role to an entire group. Whatever restrictions come with the role then apply to each member. For example, say you've created an application to manage your bow tie business. Sales needs to know what product line they'll be offering this year, but you don't want them to see next year's top secret, in-progress designs. (Will it be stripes or polka-dots?) You could create a role that controls access in this way and assign it to the "Sales" group. Likewise, you could create a "Design" group for your firm designers and assign this group a role that forbids access to sensitive sales commission information.

If you use groups to control access to your account and applications within it, they can even relieve you of the need to manually remove a user's application access or to deny a user. For example, if you've granted a consultant access to your application by adding him to a group, you can remove his access by deleting him from the group. If you're managing groups on the billing account level, this works the same way. Depending upon how you've structured your groups, removing a user from a group might take away his access to all applications in your account, for example. In this situation, you should make sure that no application manager has granted him access as an individual user. To do so, after you remove the user from any and all groups, access the Manage Billing Account page and check the Users with Access tab.

Note: Billing Account Administrators can manage any groups in their accounts.

Tip: If you're a Billing Account Administrator, you can assign a new user to a group, even before an application manager grants her access to information. This trick is called "provisioning" and it's a great way to ensure that a user has all the proper permissions in place, before she sees your data. (Read about provisioning users.)

Who manages groups?

Only users who can create applications can create a group. Quick Base recognizes the person who creates the group as its manager. It's easy for a manager to pass management to someone else or just to get help with management tasks.

Group managers can:

If you are a Billing Account manager, you can manage groups in your account. You can also see a list of all the apps that a group can access and export a list of group members.

Related Topics:

 

Go back      |       |   

© 1999-2018  QuickBase, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Legal Notices.