About Record Change Notifications

Record change notifications are emails that Quick Base sends out when a record has been added, changed, or deleted. You can create your own message or use the default message Quick Base creates. The notification can include a copy of the record. When you create a notification, you set the conditions for when to send the notification and who should receive it.

Who can create notifications?

App Managers can create notifications for app users. Users can create notifications for themselves. App managers can edit, delete, or deactivate any notification, including those created by users.

What you can do with notifications

Notifications can help you keep track of what's happening in your application. You can set up a notification whenever a record has been changed in any way, or added or deleted, or be notified when a user appears in a task's Assigned to field.

Notifications also let you apply very specific conditions to check for before sending the email and also target only appropriate individuals for receipt. For example ,if your Quick Base application tracks deliveries for your company. When a delivery's status changes to "Ready for shipment" a notification can be sent to the user listed in the "Driver" field.

Quick Base can even let you know when larger changes occur. For example, if someone changes multiple records during the same operation (like an import), Quick Base can send you a single email notification summarizing all of the changes. (Note that the option to notify a user listed in a specific field is not available for this kind of notification.)

Quick Base can send two types of notifications

Quick Base can send two types of notifications:

There's actually a third type of notification, but chances are, you'll never see one.

Prior to October 29, 2004, there was a third type of notification that would show all fields except the ones a user had no access to. Quick Base supports this type of notification only for backward compatibility. These notifications can no longer be created, but can be edited or deleted.

When notifications won't be sent

A notification won’t be sent when its owner no longer has access to the table or the app. The user may no longer have admin rights, or may have been removed from the app (for example, if the user has left your company).

To identify notifications that won't be sent:
  1. Open the table that contains the notification.

  2. Click SETTINGS, then click Notifications, subscriptions, & reminders.

  3. The title and owner of notifications that won’t be sent are displayed in red, and the icon also changes. You can make a copy of the notification, delete it, or deactivate it.

Related Topics:

 

Go back      |       |   

© 1999-2018  QuickBase, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Legal Notices.